Head for the Hills Albums

Blue Ruin

Meta-fictional sea shanties.  Pop-infused newgrass murder ballads and urbane lyricism. Twang and punch. Head for the Hills’ third record, Blue Ruin, fuses bluegrass, jazz, hip-hop and indie rock into songs inspired by love and misery and comic books. Featuring twelve new original songs marked by inspired narratives and stellar musicianship, Blue Ruin showcases the quartet’s contemporary take on acoustic music; embracing the bluegrass pedigree while looking forward.

Track Listing

1. Take Me Back
2. Never Does
3. Blue Ruin
4. Priscilla the Chinchilla
5. Look at You Now
6. Wish You Well
7. Lover’s Scorn
8. Dependency Co.
9. Bosun Ridley
10. Breakfast Noir
11. Scrap Metal
12. Light the Way



Culled from 5 great nights in Colorado, Head for the Hills – Live is just that: the band live and unadorned, performing favorite original material and select covers.  “Live” showcases the range of the bands songwriting, the depth of their improvisational chops and the some of the eclectic eccentricities that mark every Head for the Hills performance, all captured in fantastic high fidelity sound. The Live new record features keyboard work by special guest James Thomas. Co-Produced by Head for the Hills & Jon O'Leary.


Track Listing

1. Interlude
2. Randall Collins
3. Lost in the Loop
4. One Foot in the Grave
5. Scribe's Eye
6. Solar Bowling Shoes
7. Big Mon
8. Fire on the Mountain
9. Bosun Ridley
10. New Lee Highway Blues
11. Nooks and Crannies
12. Goin' Down
13. Don’t Take Your Guns To Town
14. Cold Walls
15. Salt Spring
16. Run to the Hills

iTunes | Amazon | Spotify | BUY CD

Head For The Hills (self-titled)

The 2010 self-titled release from Head For The Hills.
Produced by Drew Emmitt and recorded in Billy Nershi’s studio. The new release captures the group’s dynamic songwriting as well as the essence of their live performances.  With engaging arrangements, a bit of creative instrumentation and a bevy of talented guests, Head for the Hills represents a huge step forward for the band, and is sure to excite and engage audiences across the spectrum. Special guests include: Drew Emmitt, Billy Nershi, Anders Beck, James Thomas, & Kyle James Hauser

Track Listing:

1. One Foot in the Grave
2. Solar Bowling Shoes
3. Time to Spare
4. Nooks and Crannies
5. Cold Walls
6. A Poor Boy’s Melody
7. My Angelie
8. Chupchik
9. If’n When
10. Unchain My Heart

iTunes | Amazon | Spotify | BUY CD




Head For The Hills’ first album (released in 2007) contains many classic H4TH tunes. Produced By Sally Van Meter. 


Track Listing:

1. Hornets Nest
2. Thunderstorm
3. Harvest Moon
4. Robbers Roost
5. Push On Through
6. The Creek Has Run Dry
7. Goin’ Down
8. Scribes Eye
9. AmonMonita
10. Telluride Song
11. Delphi Stomp
12. Vacant Train
13. Runaway

iTunes | Amazon | Spotify | BUY CD


Live Music Archive

To Stream & Download a variety of Live Head for the Hills performances